Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Problematic

Early Monday morning is my usual time to do laundry. (Sometimes I can get away with not doing laundry for 2 WEEKS if i don't mind baggy/saggy jeans and lots of hoodies!) Living in the dorms with 40 girls/hallway, 3 hallways/wing, and 2 wings/building (that is 240 girls, by the way) and 6 measly (I say measly, but they are actually quite nice. The measly refers more to the seemingly disproportional amount) washing machines - the TIME to do laundry and AVAILABILITY of the washing machines rarely coincide. So Monday mornings are just ideal! I can take up FOUR washing machines at the same time and do all my loads at once. It is exhilarating. So Sunday night (who am I kidding, in bed before midnight? It was actually just ultra early on Monday morning) I set my alarm for 6:15. This works out nicely because I can get up, throw my loads in, and then come back up and sleep until 7:00 when I take them out and put them in the dryer. 


6:15 rolls around and my alarm goes off with the familiar promise that Rick Astley is never gonna give me up, let me down, or desert me. As real Melissa lays there in bed, lamenting how quickly those last 5 hours flew by, dream Melissa gets out of bed and goes down to the laundry room. Dream Melissa then proceeds to put in her loads of laundry, and even remembers the detergent. Then dream Melissa walks back up the 46,000 stairs to the bedroom, crawls back into bed with real Melissa, and then real Melissa resets her alarm for 7:00. At 7:00 dream Melissa walks down the stairs and puts the laundry into the dryers - she even remembers to put in dryer sheets. Then she walks up the stairs again, and goes back to sleep.


At 8:30, real Melissa wakes up to find that she has overslept and has no clothes to wear for the day. YAY! 


Sometimes I want to punch dream Melissa.





3 comments:

Katers said...

Wow, that is really ambitious. I go about 3 weeks without doing laundry and then go home and do it. Avoid the whole laudramat scene. I wouldn't be able to wake up either. A nice little text from Hannah is my wake up call. It works out nicely.

)en said...

Ha ha, that IS problematic. funny funny. p.s. i started a dream journal once and used this same blog template. weird. then i stopped because i don't know why. Love the dream journals though. So dorky & awesome.

Ashley said...

Man, you and Jen are like the coolest best friends who've never met. Same template, same birthday, it never ends.

P.S. Your dream really made me laugh. Ah, the good old days of college and laundry and no sleep.

P.P.S. I found an earwig in the dryer lint today. That'll wake you up, for sure...